Julia White & Amy Sims - Oboe & Cello Duo

Julia began her collaboration with cellist Amy Sims (pictured below) as a duo for a performance at the Herne Hill Festival in 2012. Their initial repertoire focused mainly on the music of Latin America, but their selection of works has since grown both in quantity and variety, most recently with a new three-movement work 'Little Machines' written for them by composer Alan Taylor.

They met while studying at Trinity College of Music, London. In addition to the common ground they share in music, they both have a love of good chocolate, costume drama, and growing things - Julia so far on a smaller scale with an indoor garden, and Amy on her allotment in South West London.

They are always interested to hear of other works composed or arranged for their combination of instruments - please contact them using the form on this website.

Their duo is well suited to music for events in smaller spaces, as the area they need to perform is smaller than many other ensembles.

Their repertoire includes:

J.S. Bach - Arioso from Cantata 156
Brandao - Duo for Oboe & Cello
Paule Maurice - Waltz of Sleeping Beauty & the Prince (arr. White/Sims)
Purcell - Rondeau and Hornpipe from Abdelazar
Ripper - Duo Sonatina for Oboe & Cello
Matos-Rodriguez - La Cumparsita (arr. A. Sims)
Matyas Seiber - Tango (Habanera)
Alan Taylor - Little Machines

 To book Julia & Amy for a concert or event, please use the contact form
or call 07790 255769

  Site Map